Chickpea and Spinach Skillet

I never know what to cook for vegetarians on Shabbos. Usually I end up baking tofu in a sauce and people are appreciative. But this week I was in a cooking mood, and decided on something a little fancier. My mother has a cookbook with a similar recipe. It sounded interesting but when she read me the spice list, I realized that I would have to improvise. My chickpea and spinach skillet was born.

Chickpea and Spinach Skillet

2 15 oz cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
20 oz chopped spinach
3 potatoes peeled and chopped
1 onion chopped
3 tbsp lime juice
1/4- 1/2 c salsa
Spices: salt, garlic, and cumin to your taste. I usually make spicy.

Put 2 tbsp oil in pan and saute onions a few minutes. Then add the rest of the ingredients and cook until potatoes are soft. Serve warm. If you want to serve warm on shabbos, you can either reheat in a shabbos oven for 30 minutes or on blech/warming tray for 90 minutes. This dish ended up being a side dish for the rest of us, and I’m sure your vegetarian guests will be much appreciative.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mickey
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 04:26:07

    Looks interesting, thanks! I might try this as a main dish, so what would you suggest. Serving it over rice? pasta? anything else?

    Reply

  2. pragmaticattic
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 01:40:28

    This sounds very good–are you using the frozen spinach or the fresh?

    Reply

  3. Tali Simon @ More Quiche, Please
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:07:36

    As a vegetarian, I just wanted to chime in to say that I’d love eating this. I bet it’d be great over orzo, too.

    Reply

    • Brina Gonzalez
      Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:25:59

      Or couscous or any grain. My husband loves rice so any meal without in our house is a big no no 🙂

      Reply

      • Tali Simon @ More Quiche, Please
        Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:28:54

        If you guys are into rice, then maybe you can tell me the answer to something I’ve been wondering for months.
        You know those rice blends? I bought one with black, brown, and white rice in it, and every time I cooked some, the black “leaked” onto the other colors and made the whole pot black. I tried rinsing it beforehand, but no good. Any suggestions to keep the colors distinct during cooking?

      • Brina Gonzalez
        Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:41:24

        I’ve noticed that dark foods have a tendency to leak when heated e.g. purple cabbage, purple potatoes, and darker rices. I’ve made white and brown rice with quinoa and had no issues leaking. My advice to you is cook the black rice separately.

      • Tali Simon @ More Quiche, Please
        Dec 20, 2011 @ 14:42:28

        Or not buy the blend, I guess. 🙂

  4. pragmaticattic
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 00:29:45

    I made this for dinner tonight, without the potatoes because I had latkes. I served it with guacamole and taco shells and it was fantastic.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Butternut Squash, Chick Pea and Spinach Melange « Pragmatic Attic

Leave a Reply

